anime, review

Nichijou Anime Review

A series requested by you guys… 2 years ago… (this is the last one)

Synopsis: Nichijou is a story about the ordinary yet not-so-ordinary lives of multiple characters, specifically three high school students, Yuko, Mio and Mai and a 5-year-old professor, her robot, Nano and their talking cat, Sakamoto. So pretty much, it’s another slice of life anime.

My Thoughts

Nichijou’s goal for each episode revolves around humour, nothing more and nothing3.gif less. This is most often easily achieved as Nichijou is honestly one of the funniest animes out there, and the humour is either clever or stupid which I find enjoyable. However where the comedy falls short is some jokes easily drag on for too long to the extent of it no longer becoming funny. Regardless though, a lot of the scenes are over-the-top and absolutely epic, Nichijou is not afraid to approach the most outrageous borders and I love it for that.

1The anime doesn’t have much of a story being a slice-of-life anime so it’s nothing significant. I do believe Nichijou was given more episodes then it needed considering this anime is solely revolved around comedy, but that’s not to say I got bored of the series, it never felt tedious to watch. The animations were mostly great especially the more epic scenes. Though the character designs were far too similar to each other having each character share the same face. The first opening is amazing and watching it again made me so happy, it’s unfortunate it got replaced.

The best part of Nichijou though was its characters, all of them were so unique, 2memorable and extremely enjoyable. Our lead characters were all fun and the bonds they share with one another is so genuine and enjoyable, particularly the bond between Hakase (professor) and Nano. The supporting cast stood out just as much and I honestly may of liked them a little bit more than our leads.

Do I like it?: Nearly three years ago I put this anime on my top 10 best animes of 2014, so yes, I do like it. However I won’t deny that although at the time Nichijou was more remarkable considering it was something I recently watch, now it doesn’t have the same impact especially compared to the animes I’ve seen afterwards.

Recommended?: DEFINITELY! I think most people can enjoy the humor in Nichijou. Key words are MOST PEOPLE. Like all anime, there’s always gonna be that group that don’t like the shows I recommend, which is completely fine. If you want to watch a comedy/slice-of-life I highly recommend you give Nichijou a go.

Thank you for reading my review and being patient with me! Till next time 🙂

4

Standard

Leave a Reply

