anime, review

Koisuru Boukun (The Tyrant Falls in Love) Anime Review

Synopsis: Koisuru Boukun is a yaoi OVA series that follows Morinaga who has been in love with his senpai, Tatsumi. However Tatsumi is an outspoken homophobe who believes “all gay men should be wiped out of this earth”. Despite that, Morinaga did confess to Tatsumi, but Tatsumi completely ignored it. With this, Morinaga’s feelings for Tatsumi are hopeless, however a certain event will either bring them closer or drift them away.

My Thoughts

Koisuru Boukun only has 2 OVA episodes and it feels more like an advertisement to the manga.2 This is an example of how most animes are like an advertisement to its original source which is why “read the manga” endings exist. However when watching any anime, even an OVA, I expect a decent ending, which unfortunately this series fails to do continuing the annoying “read the manga” ending trend.

3However I did enjoy a list of things in this series, such as the comedy, although the timing is quite bad, I found its comedy a bit entertaining. This show being a yaoi, has great yaoi fanservice and the relationship between the main couple is quite interesting. The characters are great considering how well their introduced. But one problem I had was the characters still don’t feel completely fleshed out, and I understand its an OVA series adapted from a manga, but I want more from these characters, there are just so many things about them I want to know but I have to check the manga out for it, for example, we never know the true reason why Tatsumi is so homophobic.

I do have up and down feelings with the direction the series takes. Though it starts off 1.gifinteresting making me feel like it’ll add more recognition for the LGBT community, it eventually goes down by the end of episode one only to get really interesting in episode two with it’s drama which was beautifully done. However with it’s inconclusive ending, I really wonder how the story will play out.

Do I like it?: I do like it, but it does fail as an OVA feeling completely empty. I know it’s just an OVA but comparing it to Hiyokoi another OVA adapted from a manga, this one fails as Hiyokoi manages to introduce you to the series and gives you enough knowledge of the characters but of course leaves you wanting much more. Koisuru Boukun feels completely empty despite its two OVA episodes. But yeah, I will be reading the manga anyway.

Recommended?: This OVA is specifically for fujoshis who can enjoy yaoi. Any other audience, I can’t guarantee you’ll enjoy it. When I check out the manga, I’d have a better idea what the series has to offer for its audience as an entirety. But this is an ANIME review, so the manga isn’t relevant.

Thanks for reading my review. Do you agree? What are you thoughts? Well, till next time 🙂

4

Standard

Leave a Reply

