anime, dub review, review

Yuri!!! On Ice Dub Review

So I ended up forgetting to talk about the voice acting in my review. I will say I love the Japanese dub, every characters voice is perfect. However I only just found out that the English dub exists so I’m here to talk about it.

DISCLAIMER: I have only seen Episode 10 of the dub, since it’s the episode where majority of the characters appear all at once according to my memory, at least. So everything I know about this dub is from ONE EPISODE.

Minami (Trina Nishimura), Sara (Tia Ballard), Emil (Justin Briner), Mickey (J.Michael Tatum), Seung-gil (Oscar Seung), Guang Hong (Howard Wang), Leo (Ricco Fajardo), Lillia (Caitlin Glass), Yakov (Damon Mills), Celestino (Ian Sinclair)

I mentioned all these characters first because we hear from them the least in this episode. But thankfully, all of them sound really good. I couldn’t really pick out any problems with their voices at all.

Mari (Leah Clark) and Minako (Colleen Clikenbeard)

In episode 10, Minako and Mari mainly fangirl throughout the whole episode. Otherwisemari and minako they’re a lot more calmer characters. So basing my judgement on their fangirl sides, Colleen Clikenbeard and Leah Clark both did an amazing performance.

 JJ (Jeremy Inman)

jjI actually love JJ’s Japanese performance and I only just found out Mamoru Miyano did the voice of JJ which explains A LOT. If you didn’t know, Mamoru Miyano is my favourite Japanese voice actor, he always gives it his all in every performance he does, and JJ is no exception. So for somebody to be as good as Mamoru Miyano is VERY difficult considering how high he sets the expectation. But unfortunately, Jeremy Inman fails to. He’s voice acting seems so wooden and he doesn’t sound like he has passion for JJ’s character.

Phichit (Joel McDonald)

Phichit is the equivalent of the YoI fandom, he leads the Victuri ship. He is adorable andphichit to match his personality he requires a more softer, childish voice kind of similar to Kensho Ono’s performance as him. Joel McDonald definitely doesn’t match this kind of voice which is very disappointing. BUT that doesn’t mean he did a bad performance, I actually don’t mind it at all. Sure, it wasn’t perfect and could’ve been a lot better but his voice does somehow work.

Chris (Chris Sabat)

chrisChris is voiced by Chris… haha… funny. So this performance is more hilarious than it is bad or good. Chris Sabat makes Chris actually sound like the stereotypical gay guy and I don’t know if I love it or not. But besides that, Chris Sabat does a good job as Chris.

Otabek (Mike McFarland)

I am not a fan of this performance. I understand that Otabek is generally expressionlessotabek but his voice was never so bland and lazy. I can’t think of anything great to say about this performance which is sad, but it doesn’t really matter as much since Otabek doesn’t talk much.

Yurio (Micah Solusod)

yurioOut of all of the performances, this one is my least favorite. I’m grateful Micah Solusod nailed Yurio’s short-tempered, asshole side but I cannot stand the incredibly forced Russian accent. The forced accent they gave Yurio just ruins everything about this performance which otherwise would’ve been great. At least with Otabek’s voice, it is not something we have to put up with all the time since he is generally quiet and isn’t apart of the main cast. With Yurio however, he is an important character, we’re with him from episode one till the final episode. But again maybe the voice acting is better earlier in the anime.

Yuri (Josh Grelle)

I don’t actually mind this performance. Josh Grelle has done shy, introverted characters yuribefore and usually they’re either great or average. This one is better than average, but is not necessarily great either. One problem people had with this performance was that Yuri doesn’t have an accent since his Japanese but I’m not bothered by that. So overall this is a fine performance.

Victor (Jerry Jewell) 

I saved Victor for last because I have the most to say about him. So how do we describe victorVictor, he is Russian, charismatic but also incredibly adorable, in fact his the most adorable character of them all. The only thing this dub got right was the fact he’s Russian and a bit of his charming traits. I personally think he should’ve been voiced by Vic Mignogna because Victor gives me Tamaki vibes. When I heard Victor’s dub voice, first thing I thought of was Russia from Hetalia, which it is because Jerry Jewell did voice Russia. It was wise of Crunchyroll to choose someone who can perform a great Russian accent like Jerry Jewell but by doing so they fail with every other trait we all love about Victor. Sure he sounds like the charismatic guy he is but he lacks that soothing tone that Victor is suppose to have along with Victor’s adorable side which we all love, which disappoints me most. But he did give it his all which I will praise him for at least, so this is neither a bad or a good performance. And I will get this out of the way, yes Victor sounds like Gru from Despicable Me.

gru

Recommended Dub?

Overall the dub is okay. Yuri is the only main character who sounds good along with the supporting cast. Everyone else is so-so or just hilarious. I think the part this dub fails at is they try so hard to give their characters accents adding diversity, resulting them to forget about all the other important aspects of each of the characters. I definitely recommend the sub over the dub because it is just near-perfection. However if you don’t like reading subtitles, then I recommend the dub, since it is not horrible and it is tolerable enough. Otherwise, definitely choose the Japanese over the English for this anime.

SORRY THAT THIS WAS LATE! I actually have plenty of reviews planned. Thank you for reading this dub review, I haven’t done one in awhile and I do have an anime in mind that I’m going to do another dub review for. What do you think of this dub? Till next time 🙂

conclusion

Standard

3 thoughts on “Yuri!!! On Ice Dub Review

  1. That header pic omg yes Gru yes.

    The dub for this one . . . From what I’ve listened to, the acting is great–Funimation dubs are usually 10/10 in terms of voice acting. It’s usually just the vocal rang when that’s off, and that, though I am not a voice over expert, seems to be near impossible to change sometimes. That’s why we end up with 40 year old me voicing Yuri x Victor fanatics like selfie boy 🙂 Good review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I generally agree that Funimation’s dubs are usually fantastic however I found that this dub isn’t one of them but to be fair it’s because they were searching more for cultural diversity and weren’t giving enough attention to finding a voice actor that suits the characters personality. At least that’s what I feel like 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

