anime, review

Yuri!!! On Ice Anime Review

Synopsis: Yuri on Ice is a sports anime based on figure skating. The story follows Yuri Katsuki who is constantly losing in competitions. Yuri is unsure whether to continue ice skating but once a video goes viral of him perfectly mimicking a complex routine by his role model, Victor Nikiforov, Victor flies down to Japan and decides to be Yuri’s coach and help him build his figure skating career.

My Thoughts

Everybody and their mothers have heard about Yuri!!! on Ice. The anime was very hyped3 up and I was the one who hadn’t watched it yet. I watched this anime just recently, especially now that the hype died a bit. But I was always worried the hype would ruin it but it didn’t thankfully. Each episode was very exciting to watch, in fact I don’t dislike any of these episodes at all, I especially love the end of Episode 7. I’ll get this out of the way, I definitely ship Victuri, I am one of those fangirls that got too excited over their relationship and I can’t remember the last time an anime couple made me fangirl that much. Watching Yuri grow more confident and become a better ice skater was such a delight, the anime took so much time to develop him.

1I absolutely adore the individual characters of Yuri and Victor who are both so adorable, Victor especially! My problem though is they have too many characters to the point I couldn’t keep up and the thing is a lot of these characters were interesting and likable but a lot of them also were easily pushed to the sidelines. The characters I got annoyed at though were the triplets, I don’t know they just really annoyed me. Can I also appreciate how the anime doesn’t have a crappy ending, it just ends on a satisfactory level but still leaves you wanting more.

I’ll get this out of the way, I do really love the opening, I don’t need to go on about it4 because everyone else has. The ending sequence is pretty good and so is the OST. The animations although very good and the ice skating sequence as mesmerizing and beautiful as they were, the anime definitely recycles their animations and I’m not usually one to notice it but this anime made it obvious and that just seems cheap. Also I love the character designs for all the characters particularly Yurio who had such a graceful appearance despite the asshole character I love.

 Do I like it?: Yes, yes, yes!! Yuri!!! On Ice is the best anime I’ve seen this year… so far. I loved every episode and I am weak for yaoi ships so that just added a lot. Though I do think the anime would’ve been a million times better if they had a whole Dirty Dancing “Time of my Life” little dance sequence between Yuri and Victor in the last episode…

Recommended: As much as I love Yuri!!! On Ice, it’s easy to pick out who wouldn’t. Though Yuri!!! On Ice has a lot going for it, it’s definitely an anime for the yaoi lovers or in general for anybody who enjoys sports animes like Free!

What do you think of Yuri!!! On Ice. I am prepared for any fangirling or rants, so let me know. Till next time 🙂

2

Standard

2 thoughts on “Yuri!!! On Ice Anime Review

  1. Yuri was great fun to watch. The characters felt real and it was just a fun series. Of course, part of the fun came from the endless stream of tweets about it after each episode, but even without the massive fan following, it’s still a great show to watch. Not for everyone, but what is.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

