top 10 list, top list

Top 10 Animes I’ve Seen in 2016

Introduction

The year has ended, so in tradition, my way of giving the previous year a proper goodbye is by counting down the best animes I saw that yearAnd the worst animes too, but I haven’t watched an anime that I dislike this year. So here it is, the best animes I watched in 2016.

10. Ao Haru Ride (Blue Spring Ride)

Ao Haru Ride is not the best shoujo anime I’ve personally seen, but the anime is still prettyao-haru-ride good. The story is overall good and all the characters are likable. I also must praise once again how this anime deals with two friends liking the same guy because it was realistic, not overdramatic and it fleshed out the relationship between our the two friends and how they do really like this guy but also care deeply for each other.

9. One Week Friends (Isshukan Friends)

one-week-friendsI was so glad this anime didn’t meet my expectation of it being repetitive and the story actually made progress. I love all the characters especially Shogo who cut most of the bullshit and was straight forward. I like the bond that grew between Fujimiya and Hase and how Fujimiya slowly but surely grows and trusts more. One Week Friends is an adorable anime, what more can I say.

8. Ookami Shoujo to Kuro Oji (Wolf Girl and Black Prince)

This is an anime where I can say I’ve read the manga first. One thing I love is that Kyoyaookami shoujo to kuro ouji characters and Erika compliment each other beautifully, furthermore their love story was very interesting. Plus it’s obvious this anime would have a spot on my list considering Kyoya is my husbando. There is a lot to enjoy about this great rom-com anime despite it seeming a little cliche.

7. Shimoneta 

shimonetaThis anime is of the wall hilarious. The story alone is incredibly appealing and with it’s shock value, Shimoneta is hilarious. I loved all of the characters, they were each interesting, unique and hilarious. Shimoneta just had a great story that made it earn a spot on this list.

6. Watashi ga Motete Dousunda (Kiss Him, Not Me)

I haven’t done a review for this anime yet, but I really like this series. I’ve been watching thiswatashi-ga-motete-dousunda anime weekly and I’ve read the manga before the anime came out. I liked most of the characters, I related to Kae on a spiritual level and I must say even though I fell in love with Igarashi, Mutsumi-senpai is best boy! I will get more into discussion when I review this series but Watashi ga Motete Dousunda is a fantastic anime that made it on the number 6 spot.

5. Tokyo Ghoul

Now I’ve heard many debates about this anime, a lot of people think Tokyo Ghoul is shittokyo ghoul while others defend it mainly because they’ve read the manga. However I haven’t read the manga but I love the anime. Tokyo Ghoul addressed the concept of isolation and the whole topic of ghouls vs humans quite beautifully, though thanks to AniSins I realized which side is at wrong but still Tokyo Ghoul is an amazing anime and I stand by that which is why it’s number 5 on this list.

4. Prison School

An anime I haven’t reviewed yet. Prison School is a hilarious anime and I couldn’t getprison-school enough of it. Each episode was funnier than the last. Every character was memorable and mostly likable. The anime was so over the top it was fantastic heck there is one character in the anime who tries to be all dramatic but it’s too hilarious.

3. Sekaiichi Hatsukoi

sekaiichi-hatsukoiI was considering placing Sekaiichi Hatsukoi on first place considering for 2014’s top 10 list, Junjou Romantica was first place and Sekaiichi Hatsukoi is just as good as Junjou, but this year I personally found some animes that were better than both Junjou Romantica and Sekaiichi Hatsukoi. Despite that I am in love with Sekaiichi Hatsukoi. The romance was quite mature but adorable and captivating. I loved most of the characters and in general, this is a brilliant yaoi series.

2. Hybrid Child

Definitely Shungiku Nakamura’s best work despite it being a one-shot that was made intohybrid-child an OVA series. Hybrid Child is a brilliant series, it’s emotional, the relationships are all beautiful and unique. Hybrid Child is everything a yaoi anime SHOULD be (in my personal opinion of course). This is the anime that brought me to tears this year. I would’ve easily placed Hybrid Child as number 1 but there’s a certain anime that was better.

1. Paradise Kiss

Paradise KissAfter some thought, there was no doubt Paradise Kiss would top this list. This anime is amazing with it’s story and characters. The main character, Yukari is definitely one of the most well developed characters in anime, finding herself and growing as a person. I also adore the little push she gets from George, even though people say he’s an asshole I personally think he’s good for Yukari. All the other characters are very likable and fit in well with the story. And all that is why Paradise Kiss is the best anime I’ve watched in 2016.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Top 10 Animes I’ve Seen in 2016

Leave a Reply

