anime, Uncategorized

Maiden Rose Anime Review

Introduction

Yaoi is seriously becoming a trend on this blog, isn’t it? You’ve probably noticed the yaoi animes I’ve been reviewing were created by Shungiku Nakamura with the exception of Super Lovers. This anime is different and its the first time I’m reviewing a yaoi anime that isn’t by Studio Deen. However after searching for some yaoi anime, Maiden Rose caught my  attention with a different setting to really most animes. So here it is, Maiden Rose the review.

Story & Characters

“Two soldiers from warring countries are bound by a pledge as master and servant. Takimaiden-rose-story Reizen is a Commander of sublime beauty, shouldering the fate of his nation. Called “Mad Dog” because of his rough temperament, Klaus has sworn his loyalty to him as a knight. Despite this, those around them are cold and disapproving, full of various misgivings. For all their genuine feelings, what will come of love made cruel by the violence of war?” – From it’s myanimelist page (https://myanimelist.net/anime/5902/Hyakujitsu_no_Bara) cause I couldn’t really figure out its storyline.

maiden-rose-charactersTo be completely honest I am not a fan of this anime’s first episode. The relationship between our two leads seemed lackluster and merely based on sex and look don’t get me wrong I love a good yaoi sex scene as much as any other perverted fujoshi but when that’s all an anime has to offer then it’s meaningless. However the second episode is so much better! The story just seemed more interesting and best part is I started to give a shit about the love story between Klaus and Taki. How about the characters? Well, only three characters were really memorable which were Taki, Klaus and the little boy. The only way you can give a shit about Klaus and Taki is if you care about their relationship which I did whilst watching episode 2, but other than that their personalities are quite paper thin when you get down to it. The little boy who’s name I don’t remember (or the anime probably didn’t mention it) he did have some personality being someone who really admired Klaus and stood by his opinion on him even though everyone else disagreed with him.

Grade (Story): C+
Grade (Characters): C-

Animations and Sound

The animations is pretty colorful especially for a war based anime. It’s very vivid andmaiden-rose-animations mostly clear. The character designs for most characters were good especially Taki, I loved everything about his character design, he’s appearance is stunning. However there’s one character I have to complain about which is Klaus, what is up with his chin?! I’ve complained about the character designs in Sekaiichi Hatsukoi, Junjou Romantica and Hybrid Child with their chins but oh my goodness this is just terrible and it’s too distracting, I understand if this is just the original mangakas way of designing the character but still I couldn’t help but stare at it every time we had a front view of Klaus.

maiden-rose-soundThe music doesn’t stand out… at all… I don’t even know if the anime has music. So now I’m confused about what I’m grading this anime’s music so I looked it up and I listened to it and it’s actually very beautiful too bad I never noticed it. The voice acting is incredibly solid, every characters voice worked perfectly for them. Susumu Chiba did the best job as Taki, he’s voiced matched Taki’s dominant side but also matched his more… y’know… uke side.

Grade (Animations): B-
Grade (Music): C-
Grade (Voice Acting): B

Conclusion

Maiden Rose is definitely worth a bit of your time if you like yaoi anime. Outside of it’s yaoimaiden-rose-conclusion genre, the series doesn’t have much else to offer. It’s story gets good in episode 2 but definitely check out episode 1 beforehand. The relationship between our leads is mostly sweet and interesting. So I grade Maiden Rose with a C+.

Thank you for reading my review. Let me know if you like Maiden Rose or not. If you want me to review any anime series, I will gladly do so. Till next time 🙂

maiden-rose

Standard

Leave a Reply

