anime, list, openings, top 40, top list

Top 40 Openings to Animes I Haven’t Watched YET

Introduction

From the day I started this blog the one thing I’ve always wanted to do was make an openings top list. Problem is there is way too many openings to add in and not to mention there are still heaps of animes I want to watch and heaps of openings I’ll eventually love and it’ll be  way to difficult to list all these openings. So I separated my list with animes I haven’t seen and animes I have seen. Today I’ll be listing the animes I haven’t seen yet but already started liking its opening.

Rules

  • I won’t be listing animes I’m currently watching unless I’ve only seen a few episodes. If I’ve already watched nearly half the anime then it will not count on this list
  • I won’t be mentioning animes from long-running animes like Naruto or Bleach. If I like one of their openings it’ll be on my other list because I don’t know at what point of these series is considered halfway.
  • If I didn’t mention an anime opening on this list, chances are I either don’t like the opening, never heard of the anime, forgot to put the anime on my to watch list, don’t want to watch the anime or I’ve already watched the anime.
  • THIS LIST IS BASED ON MY OPINION. If you don’t like my list, that’s fine, heck you can link me to your list or make it on the spot in the comments I’ll gladly check it out 🙂
  • I know most animes have a second opening but I never bothered to check them out so this is a list for the first openings of these animes (some of these may not be the first opening due to accidentally checking out the wrong opening).

Honorable Mentions

Zannenkei Rinjinbu (Hoshi Futatsuhan) – Tomodachi Tsukuri-tai (Haganai), Endscape – UVERworld (Toward the Terra), Driver’s High – L’Arc~en Ciel (Great Teacher Onizuka), May I Help You? – Ai Kayano, Mai Nakahara & Aki Toyosaki (Servant x Service), Tomorrow – Mikuni Shimokawa (Full Metal Panic), Higurashi no Naku Koro Ni – Eiko Shimamiya (Higurashi no Naku Koro Ni), Flying Humanoid – Shouko Nakagawa (Occult Academy), Dramatic Market Ride – Aya Suzuki (Tamako Market), All The Way – Mikuni Shimokawa, Romantic Summer – SUN&LUNAR (My Bride is a Mermaid), Sekai de Ichiban Koi Shiteru – Shuuhei Kita (Sekai ichi Hatsukoi), Colorful Box – Youko Ishida (Shirobako)

41. Mystical Ninja’s Opening

I know this is not an anime, this is a video game. But this is the only chance I had to mention this opening considering I don’t really know many video game openings and I can’t make a top list of that. Besides Mystical Ninja does have its own anime even though it’s bad. But I just love this opening heaps, since I was little and may I add so this opening is incredibly nostalgic and if this opening made the younger version of me who hated any song that’s not in English fall in love then it deserves a spot on this list even though it’s not an anime and I have played this game.

40. Nee – Maiko Fujita (Hiiro no Kakera)

I don’t know much about Hiiro no Kakera other then it’s a reverse harem. The problem with reverse harems is they follow a trend of having a bland female protagonist. Hiiro no Kakera looks like it won’t be an exception but this beautiful song with its lovely animations and the emotions expressed in this opening tell me otherwise and whether this anime turns out good or bad won’t change my love for this beautiful opening.

39. Sky Blue Days – Shoko Nakagawa (Gurren Lagaan)

I don’t know too much about Gurren Lagaan but what this opening represents is what I hope from this anime. An anime that is fun and full of energy but at the same time has action to fit in. This is an anime constantly compared to Kill la Kill and if I can really enjoy Kill la Kill, Gurren Lagaan should be enjoyable and that’s exactly what this opening gives me hope for.

38. SOMEONE ELSE – Kana Asumi, Saki Fujita and Eri Kitamura (Working!)

This opening basically tells me there is going to be lots of moe in this anime by both the music and animation. What I seem to like most about this opening is that I know I’ll get a kick out of this anime because the opening is having fun and when an opening can have fun then I can definitely enjoy myself and I’m definitely more interested in watching this anime which is what an opening is suppose to do and it did it’s job very well.

37. Trip-Innocent of D- – Larvel Stage Planning (Highschool DxD)

The problem with many ecchi anime is that it is so poor with its story and characters and relies too heavily on fanservice that it may as well be a hentai. Highschool DxD from what I’ve heard is a perfect example on what ecchi anime should be like, throws fanservice around but at the same time cares enough to take the story and characters seriously resulting in a good anime. This anime alone represents that well, it has fanservice but it also reminds you that this is not a hentai by showing some serious sides of the show and some more light-hearted sides and if an opening can give me that impression then it is definitely an opening that deserves a spot on this list.

36. Zoetrope – Nagi Yanagi (Amnesia)

I have heard some really bad things about Amnesia but regardless I have been interested in watching the anime for a while. The animation is so beautiful and this fitting song to an anime about a girl who has amnesia, it just makes me hope that Amnesia is better than what everyone says.

35. Guns & Rose – Paradise Lunch (Bacanno)

This is not one of those songs I’ll download and listen to often, but I won’t deny, Baccano’s opening is quite catchy and it just seems so fitting to the show. The anime looks like it’ll be a lot of fun but more of the light-hearted kind of fun which I don’t really expect from Baccano. Even so this opening definitely delivers what its suppose to and more which is splendid.

34. Yume no Shima Shinen Kouen (Dream Island Obsessional Park) – Susumu Hirasawa (Paranoia Agent)

When I first heard of the title, Paranoia Agent, I immediately thought of a dark anime. Watching this opening changed that image with all the characters laughing with sometimes quite depressing backgrounds which makes me look at this anime as a dark comedy… as you can tell I’m completely blind to Paranoia Agent. Even so this opening encourages me to watch the show with it’s epic song and odd opening.

33. Uragiri no Yuuyake (Treacherous Sunset) – Theatre Brook (Durarara!!)

This opening is like Baccano’s opening with its transition from character to character but I found myself enjoying Durarara’s opening a bit more. I just found that this style of music was so fitting to the anime and everything happening did the job of interesting me into watching the anime.

32. WILD CHALLENGER – Jindou (Bobobo-bobo-bobo)

What I’ve always expected from Bobobo (I’m not going to finish those Bos) is comedy and I mean incredibly absurd comedy, I mean the main character Bobobo fights with his nose hair, that is beyond ridiculous and I love it. This opening alone represents that and it has so much fun with everything. So of course this opening deserved a spot on my list.

31. CLICK – ClariS (Nisekoi)

Ah Nisekoi, the cause of the war between Team Chitoge and Team Onodera. Literally the Facebook arguments over those two teams last year caused me be interested in Nisekoi. I haven’t even seen Nisekoi to choose a side. This opening is on this list not only because it’s catchy and the animation is wonderful, mainly because of the performer, ClariS who did both of Oreimo’s and Madoka Magica’s opening. Not to mention I love its change of colors going from more pastel colors to its regular colors.

30. Hacking to the Gate – Kanako Itou (Steins;Gate)

When I first heard this opening, I was not much of a fan at all. After some time though I found myself enjoying Steins;Gate’s opening more. This opening fits well with the time travel theme involved with the anime not the mention the animation is fantastic like I can’t explain it but it’s just oddly great.

29. killy killy JOKER – Kanon Wakeshima (Selector Infected WIXOSS)

What’s so great about this opening is that the characters look so cutesy yet this opening tells us otherwise with dark yet colourful animation and it just looks like an anime that will address themes that I want more animes to address. I don’t know what themes but I know when I watch this anime I may figure it out. The music is really good too from this slower pace and then bouncing up to a fast pace and it does so perfectly.

28. One Reason – fade (Deadman Wonderland)

 An anime with an opening sung in English usually has two results. Sounding odd or sounding amazing. Deadman Wonderland sound amazing with the intensity of the sequence not just the epic lyrics but the creepy yet incredibly interesting visuals and not to mention its animations are gorgeous.

27. Again – Yui (Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood)

Honestly the first… five-ten times I’ve heard this opening I didn’t like this opening. But as I was writing this list I decided to give this opening a chance and I’m glad I did because as it turns out FMA’s opening is beyond intense with its perfect build up starting off slow and soft then going more fast paced and epic which is the best thing an opening can do. Not to mention the flawless visuals that accompany the opening.

26. Resonance – T.M Revolution (Soul Eater)

How do I begin to explain this opening. Well it just seems likes a perfect way to sum up Soul Eater’s premise. The animation and the music is incredibly intense and the way I imagine Soul Eater to be is an epic anime that knows how to tell a story but is also entertaining when it comes to comedy and this opening is a perfect reason for me to hope that.

25. Shiny Tale – Mix Speakers (Daily Lives of Highschool Boys)

This anime… five minutes into the anime and I already knew this comedy is probably just as ridiculous as Nichijou.. well maybe less intense. This opening is a fine example of what I hope for a comedy and well a fine representation of “boys being boys” considering the anime is literally called “The Daily Lives of Highschool Boys” which I don’t expect it to be any less than boys being…. boys I guess.

24. Viva Namida – Yasuyuki Okamura (Space Dandy)

“Space Dandy, a dandy guy from space” I will never get over the fact that every time I’d go on my sister’s laptop that will just come up. This opening is perfect for the anime with its animation and music. And I swear that dance is from a music video I just can’t remember which one. I don’t expect more from an anime where the male lead sings about booty..As you can tell I’ve only seen like a couple of scenes but yes this anime and its opening is awesome.

23. Hana wa Odoreya Irohaniho (Flower Dancing ABCDE) – Team “Hanayamata” (Hanayamata)

This opening is just beautiful with its animations and the last bit in the song. I’ve seen many animes with cute girls being kawaii as fuck furthermore I’ve seen many openings involving that trait and its not a bad thing it’s just common. But this anime, I can’t get over how beautiful it is despite the brightness. The song too is just adorable and fun and full of enerfy and once again that soft ending to the song is just perfect.

22. Hikari no Senritsu (Melody of Light) – Kalafina (Sound of the Sky)

From the animations to the visuals to the music, all of it is heavenly, literally. And these are the people who performed Madoka Magica’s ending which got me excited to know. Anyway I can’t even begin to explain how gorgeous this opening is. I know the visuals are inspired by an artwork/art style I just don’t know what’s its called by it’s so pretty.

21. Tabi no Tochuu (On a Journey) – Natsumi Kiyoura (Spice and Wolf)

How do I begin to describe this gorgeous opening… Well I just did describe it aha.. But I’m completely blown away with its medieval vibe, its amazing animations and the whole tone of the series. This opening does its job of captivating the viewers into the show opening oppurtunities of it being a compelling story with dynamic characters which I hope for. Not to mention the build up in this opening is literally breath-taking and absolutely beautiful.

20. Kiri – Monaral (Ergo Proxy)

I’ve heard so much about this anime from how dark it is, to how amazing it is and how complex it is which this opening represents perfectly with its stunning and creepy but overall beautiful animations and you can never go wrong with an English opening which is beyond fantastic and fitting to the show with its lyrics and tone.

19. Hikaru Nara (If It Shines) – Goose house (Your Lie in April)

The sad truth about many anime viewers is no matter how crap the story of an anime sounds if the music and animation is beautiful, we’ll immediately put it in our watch list. Of course Your Lie in April doesn’t have a bad storyline its just I added it into my watch list without knowing what it’s about because of how pretty the animation is and how fantastic this opening is which is quite shallow on my behalf but come on how can this song by Goose house not give you goosebumps (see what I did there). This opening gives me hope, joy and passion which is exactly what I hoped from such a beautiful anime.

18. Daydream Syndrome – Marina Fujiwara (Dream Eater Merry)

The one thing that attracted me to this opening is its use of shadows. I love an opening that is incredibly dark with its music going low to a more innocent tone if that’s the correct word. I love its constant switch from badass to innocent. I honestly don’t know much about the anime but this opening alone already attracts me to the series because of my love for bitter sweetness in anime.

17. This Game – Konomi Suzuki (No Game, No Life)

Though I do dislike how bright the animation is, it is some top-quality animation. This openings visuals are very appealing but what makes me enjoy this opening is its epic music, I remember the moment I first heard it I immediately got the song and put it on repeat. I love its epic build-up, its low pitch to strong pitch. This opening song is everything I love in an opening. Why isn’t it higher on the list? I’ve listened to it so many times its lost its effect, but hey it’s still an awesome opening.

16. scarlet – ave;new ft BRACE;d (a.k.a Miki Kawase & a.k.a dRESS) (Chibi Vampire Karin)

This opening… Well I love the catchy and opening music which just seems to fit perfectly. But what stood out is what was happening. I’m fascinated how such an innocent and cute looking anime was balanced with mature themes like nudity. I really like this opening because of the unforgettable music and it’s perfect balance in the opening.

15. Red Fraction – Mell (Black Lagoon)

 There is only one word to describe this opening.. Fuck. This is beyond a badass opening from what’s happening in it to its music to its animations. I even here the women in this anime are complete badasses and though knowing myself I’m not going to rush straight into watching Black Lagoon I’m still annoyed at the fact I’m not getting into this badass anime already.

14. Falling Down – Oasis (Eden of the East)

I said this before and I’ll say it again, you can never go wrong with an English opening. I can’t even begin to explain how much I love the music and its lyrics. The animations are good and I love a lot of things that are happening that seems to fit perfectly. Though I must confess, I have seen bits and pieces of Eden of the East but not enough to say I’ve watched it and I don’t remember a lot of it, all I remember is that girl who cuts off dicks. That’s it. But I promised myself I will get back and watch this anime from start to finish.

13. Battlecry – Nujables (Samurai Champloo)

I have seen enough of Samurai Champloo to know what its about and all but not enough to say I’ve watched it entirely which is why its better off on this list. I love how Samurai Champloo uses an old-fashion setting using modern day music and it fits perfectly for this show. It’s surprising how hip hop can fit in a samurai-setting anime but it really does which is what I love about this opening along with its animations.

12. Colors – FLOW (Code Geass)

The animations is full of colors (get what I did there … omg please stop me). Anyway this opening is amazing. From the animation to music. I use to be almost addicted to this song that’s how good it is. This opening has so much to it that makes it fun and incredibly catchy and I try so hard to remember the repetitive part even till now but I struggle but I will ace it someday.

11. Crossing Field – LiSA (Sword Art Online)

Sorry I couldn’t find the proper version. Anyway this opening use to be all I listened to for awhile I mean just picture the drummer of this song and how much fun he would’ve had on it. The build up, everything is stunning in this opening along with the animations. The thing I hope for is that SAO isn’t as bad as many people say it is.

10. B Chiku Sentai SOX – SOX (Shimoneta to Iu Gainen ga Sonzai Shinai Taikutsu na Sekai/ A Boring World Where the Concept of Dirty Jokes Doesn’t Exist)

This anime… I’ve already seen a few episodes and OMG! The moment I saw this opening there was no doubt it’ll be on the list. I love the concept of this anime and everything that happens in the opening (some of the scenes are from the anime). But I just think this anime is clever and I can’t wait to continue it because I’m already enjoying it after 3 episodes.

9. Fantastic Future – Yukari Tamura (The Hentai Prince and Stony Cat)

This song has been stuck in my head from the moment I saw the first episode. I’ve only seen one episode and so far it’s meh but I’ll continue it. But this opening is incredibly cute and suits what is obviously going to happen in the anime with its lyrics. I’m just a sucker for cutesy opening and Yukari Tamura is amazing at delivering them.

8. Ringo Mogire Beam (Apple Plucking Beam) – Kenji Outsuki, Ai Nonaka, Marina Inoue, Yuu Kobayashi, Miyuki Sawashiro & Ryouko Shintani (Zan Sayonara Zetsubou-Sensei)

I did say I won’t bother checking out the other animes openings and I kept my word it’s just I thought this opening was the first opening but no this is the third season’s opening and I’m already very attached to this opening so may as well leave it on the list. What I love about this opening is it starts off weirdly with its animation and the first few lyrics. I like this song a lot though, the it builds up is fantastic. Besides that, am I the only one who is reminded of Nichijou’s first opening…?

7. Jojo ~ Sono Chi no Sadame~ (Jojo ~ The Destiny of His Blood~) – Hiroaki “TOMMY” Tominaga (Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure)

This opening and Zetsubou-sensei’s one were very neck-to-neck but Jojo’s opening to the cake. Honestly, I don’t know much about Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure but this opening already tells me that this anime is quite bizarre. Its manga style animation as well is fantastic and looks epic. The music just fits perfectly with my image for this anime and I found it really catchy. Not to mention this is the character Dio, I have seen his memes which are my favorite memes ever.

6. THE HERO!! Ikareru Kobushi ni Hi wo Tsukero ~ (THE HERO!! Light a Fire in this Enraged Fist) – JAM Project (One Punch Man)

The Best Anime of 2015 others have claimed. Even my cousin who hates anime likes this anime which is very strange and tickles my curiosity to watch this anime considering its many memes based on it on the internet which scares me because of how I am with overhyped anime but this epic opening gives me hope that this superhero anime with One Punch Man potentially being stronger than Goku considering he can finish you off with One Punch. Also this opening has got my walking around humming out the lyrics “One Punch!!!!!!” so yes it deserves a spot on this list.

5. Mirakei Answer (Future-tense Answer) – TRUSTRICK (Ore Monogatari/My Love Story)

I put two links one was the video which has no sound and the other is a cover because the don’t even have the original version full which is fine because I’ve already heard this song before back when they actually had the opening on Youtube. But this song is too good to not put on the list, it’s adorable, incredibly sweet, catchy and unforgettable, along with great animations and well it just fits well and that’s what an opening is suppose to be like.

4. Flyers – BRADIO (Death Parade)

What a fun energetic opening, full of dancing, games, drinking etc for an anime about death… Well I have seen Death Billiards so I have an idea on what Death Parade is about and honestly it looks very entriguing. Though this opening is quite deceptive you can’t deny the animation attracts you to the story already and well… This earned a spot being my random “EVERYBODY PUT YOUR HANDS UP!” singing moments that just come out of nowhere… thank you Death Parade for having one of the most catchiest openings ever.

3. Cha-la-Head-Cha-la – Hironobu Kageyama (Dragon Ball Z) 

I’ve seen a bit of Dragon Ball Z (and I’ve seen a bit of DB: Super and Battle of the Gods) but anyway, I’m not going to complete the Dragon Ball franchise, it’s too long. But I fell in love with this song through Team Four Star and that is honestly the most I’m watching on Dragon Ball Z. But this opening is ridiculously catchy to the point I’m randomly singing “CHA-LA-HEAD-CHA-LA!!” out of nowhere. But outside of the catchiness, what else makes this opening enjoyable is well the 80s vibe you get from the music and the feeling of fun you get from the show… and my anime boyfriend looks great as usual in his blue suit…

2. Love (Loyalty) (Ai (Chuuseishin) – Milk (Excel Saga)

I’ve only seen one episode of this anime and I don’t know how to feel about this anime so far. This anime is beyond over the top ridiculous along with its wacking and annoyingly catchy opening… thanks anime. But seriously, I adore this opening for so many reasons. What goes on in the opening, the music, the catchiness, the animation, this opening is FAN-TA-STIC! But I’m going to be honest in a few months time I may get a bit sick of this song and put it lower in the list, if I had the chance to but this opening is very high on my list and deserves it.

1. Catch You, Catch Me – Gumi (Cardcaptor Sakura)

My apologies for only being able to find the full version and not the actual opening. Anyways…GET THIS SONG OUT OF MY HEAD!! Alright, alright, let me tell you a story. I started falling for this song the moment I heard it when I saw a bit of Cardcaptor Sakura. So then not long after I was listening to it in class and had to pause to talk a bit to my friend, without realising my earphones was unplugged to my computer and when I played the song it played out loud in class which lead to my friend recognizing this song for that embarrassing moment and adding to my addiction to this song. I know the lyrics that’s how much I love this song. It is so catch-y (I’m sorry I’ll stop), adorable, energetic and everything more. I adore the animations and what goes on in the opening it just fits perfectly which is why Cardcaptor Sakura’s Catch You, Catch Me is on the number one spot.

Conclusion

Now obviously not every anime is going to be on my watch-list, so in the future if I do a review on an anime and say I love its openings, there’s a great chance at the time I made this blog I never intended to watch that anime, or if it is an anime on my watch list that I didn’t even mention on here then at the time of this post I don’t care for or didn’t check out that opening, but if I say I like it in the future it’s only because my opinions change. Heck if I end up obsessing over a song that’s much lower this list now and I like it more than a song I put much higher on this list or my next openings list then that means I’ve changed. Who knows what’ll happen I may not like these songs forever and that’ll honestly not be a bad thing because change is good in some ways which ends this post thank you for actually checking out my top 40 list though lets be real  you probably scrolled past the openings from the animes you don’t care for and only read what I had to say about the animes you do like. Thank you anyway.

Till next time 🙂

Standard

Leave a Reply

