anime, top 10 list, top list

Top 10 Likable Assholes in Anime

Introduction

Whether they’re a main character, villain or just a character on the side, there are a lot of assholes in anime. Some are just straight-up detestable while others are somehow likable. I am listing here today anime characters that are assholes but I find likable.

Disclaimer:

  • Possible spoilers!!!!
  • A few of these characters you’ll most likely find unlikable but I for one didn’t
  • If you don’t like my choices make your own list and I’ll gladly check it out

Honorable Mentions

Haruhi Suzumiya (The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya), Team Rocket (Pokemon), Vegeta (Dragon Ball franchise), Kirino Kousaka (Oreimo), Yuri Yamamoto (Bokura ga Ita), Kelpie (Earl and Fairy), Laito Sakamaki (Diabolik Lovers), Yuzuki Seo (Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun), Kyoko Sakura (Puella Magi Madoka Magica)

10. Naoki Irie (Itazura na Kiss)

Nearly everybody who has seen Itazura na Kiss hates Irie. He’s like a fantasy of this 10. naoki iriebeautiful and intelligent guy that is shattered with his ugly personality. He is cold, harsh and arrogant, I don’t blame anyone for disliking him and I struggle to defend his character even though he deserves the hate he gets. However I don’t really hate Irie. I can’t really explain why but the best way I can defend Irie is by comparing him to a character named Brandon Grays.

brandon grays

Brandon Grays is from a story called Tangled Love from the app Episodes. Though the creator of this story says that this is all her original idea, I can’t help but notice the story of Tangled Love is so similar to Itazura na Kiss that it makes me think the author watched and took too much inspiration from the anime. I especially compare Brandon to Irie because it is strange how so many people could like Brandon but dislike Irie when they’re so similar as characters both being cold, harsh and arrogant, everything about Irie is Brandon and the only answer I could come up with is Brandon someone who grew up with everything good and the story brings this up. Though Itazura na Kiss never answer this for us unlike Tangled Love, it’s the same with Irie. Irie is obviously a character who has always been praised and had everything coming to him, of course he’d become an arrogant and a mean asshole he is and this is something I could understand. No I don’t believe he always cared for Kotoko but showed it through hostility, it’s more of the fact he enjoyed messing with Kotoko for so long and found himself developing feelings for her showing his feelings with hostility and occasional warmth. Besides that, Irie is realistically like many guys breaking the delusion of the perfect guy we see in many animes and we’re suppose to either accept these guys or make the better choice of ditching these guys but I admire our main character for accepting Irie for who he is. This is my reason as to why I don’t dislike Naoki Irie (sorry it was so long).

9. Ami Kawashima (Toradora)

Ami is one of those characters in anime that are very good looking and act nice but in 9. ami kawashimareality are cold, selfish and spoiled bitches. Eventually Ami reveals her true nature more and more and stops being so fake but her character doesn’t actually change, if anything we get to know her more and find more redeemable qualities in Ami which is what makes her so likable. At first I hated Ami but as the series progressed I found myself really liking her character and her role in the anime.

8. Shou Fuwa (Skip Beat)

Why does anybody like Shou? He is an unlikable character. He is an asshole, especially8. shou fuwa towards the main character. He is so arrogant and shallow. I can understand why Kyoko hates him so much. I for one found something to like in Shou. The depth in his character and his interactions with other characters especially Kyoko is what made me like him so much. He’s somewhat pitiful yet hilarious to watch that it makes it hard for me to hate him. Not to mention he is beautiful and is voiced by Mamoru Miyano, how can I not like him.

7. Sebastian Michaelis (Black Butler)

Everybody loves Sebastian but lets face it, Sebastian is an asshole. He’s cold, malicious and 7. sebastian michaelisquite sadistic. Their isn’t many redeemable qualities in Sebastian’s character, so why do so many people including fangirls and myself like Sebastian so much? Are we just shallow because he is a sexy beast who is ridiculously talented (not to mention voiced by J. Michael Tatum)? No, we’re not shallow for liking Sebastian. Well at least most of us aren’t. Sebastian is just one hell of a butler. Seriously, Sebastian is very charming and a badass too. I find him to be quite hilarious I mean something dangerous could be happening and Sebastian would worry about how much time he has left to make tea. That is why I like Sebastian and why so many other people do too.

6. Taisuke Sawanaga (School Days)

I know, I know, I know. Yes, I find Taisuke Sawanaga likable. Keep in mind, I have not6. taisuke sawanaga played the visual novel of School Days so I don’t what other bullshit he could’ve done. But the fact he RAPED Kotonoha should be enough of a reason as to why I shouldn’t like him. I don’t approve of rape, it’s a serious issue that I find disgusting and the fact Taisuke did so disgusts me. But even so I still like Taisuke. I’m saying this completely blind to the visual novel and only aware of his character in the anime. My reasoning to liking Taisuke may come off as stupid to many of you but it is because he is an amusing comic relief character. His character is in many harem animes being the perverted best friend of the guy lead. But lets be real, Taisuke is a saint compared to Makoto. He has his heart in the right place and he does genuinely like Kotonoha, he is just another high school boy when you get down to it. I just wish he didn’t rape Kotonoha because that just makes it hard for me to like him as much as I could when I should hate him. If anyone knows why people hate him in the visual novel, please tell me, I may change my mind.

5. Sesshomaru (Inuyasha)

Like Sebastian, Sesshomaru is a sexy beast. I remember when we were first introduced to5. sesshomaru Sesshomaru I hated him so much. I couldn’t stand him but people kept telling me I’ll like him just wait for it. It happened, when Rin was introduced to the series, I instantly started to like Sesshomaru and became a Sesshomaru fangirl. He is a very well developed character starting off as a cold-hearted dick who was horrible to his half-brother and hated humans and eventually becomes a warmer character with a cold exterior, he starts to care more for Inuyasha even though he doesn’t really show it and his relationship with Rin is powerful and beautiful. So that’s my reasoning to loving Sesshomaru.

4. Panty and Stocking (Panty and Stocking with Garterbelt)

These two are the complete opposite of a typical angel and my God are they horrible. Panty4. panty and stocking and Stocking both as characters are very unlikable and have no redeemable qualities. However the two somehow manage to come off as very likable characters. They both have their own unique charm and they’re hilarious characters with excellent chemistry and a great sisterly bond.

3. Bando (Elfen Lied)

Though I could’ve added Lucy considering she is one of my favorite characters in anime, 3. bandoBando is a much fitting choice considering he is an asshole for the sake of being an asshole. Their isn’t really anything redeemable about Bando, he is violent, bloodthirsty and sadistic. He doesn’t even have a backstory to back this trait up. But why I like Bando so much is the relationship he built with Mayu. Every badass needs a cute child to hang around them and that’s what Mayu and Bando’s relationship was like which made Bando’s character likable for me.

2. Drosselmeyer (Princess Tutu)

What made me like Drosselmeyer so much was how he’d be watching all the misfortunes2. drosselmeyer that’s happening and is sitting back laughing and enjoying it all. It is horrible and Drosselmeyer is a dick for it but even so he entertained me for being like that and it just made me like Princess Tutu even more. There is nothing likable about Drosselmeyer, he is the antagonist of the show, even so, he is still a very likable character.

1. Kyouya Sata (Wolf Girl and Black Prince)

There was no doubt Kyouya would be number 1 on this list. He’s the one character I want to1. kyouya sata hate but I love the most out of every character on this list. He is very cold and sadistic, he is the definition of a male-tsundere. But I just find Kyouya so likable because of his asshole personality. He is unique in a way and that’s what I like the most about Kyouya. He is not really the dream guy but he still manages to steal the hearts of some fangirls/fanboys including myself. I know a lot of people hate Kyouya because he is such an asshole and I want to as well but I don’t at all dislike Kyouya. This is my reason to choosing Kyouya as the number one most likable asshole.

Conclusion

I don’t usually do conclusions on my top lists but I wanted to say something before I endconclusion this list. What I’ve thought about more after making this list was how amazing it is that some anime characters are only likable simply because of their relationship/interaction with other characters. I have realized this before but never thought about it as much as I did now. So anyway do you agree with anything on this list? If you like you can make your own top 10 likable assholes list and share a link to it in the comments so I can check it out. Share your opinions too, I love hearing them.

Till next time 🙂

Standard

7 thoughts on “Top 10 Likable Assholes in Anime

  1. I like Shou Fuwa too even though he did some pretty asshole stunts in the beginning. He becomes more likable further in the manga. I swear, they need to make a second season of Skip Beat to show off more of his charms.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ahhhh your back with a vengeance of a list, loved all the characters you mentioned. Drosselmeyer was the last I’d expect to see on a list like this but was very surprised.
    Kyouya I couldn’t agree with more !!!! just makes me want to rewatch him in the anime because I never finished watching it lol
    Awesome read my dear Chibi XD

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

