manga, review, Uncategorized

Kyou Koi wo Hajimemasu Manga Review

Introduction

My very first manga review! So I’ll be reviewing completed manga from now on along with some anime reviews. Kyou Koi wo Hajimemasu (Today, I’ll Start Our Love) is a shojo manga made in February 2007-February 2014. It’s a manga I’ve recently read and completed to give you my very first manga review.

Story

Tsubaki Hibino is very talented in styling hair for others however can’t dokyou koi hajimemasu story her own hair. So she comes to a school she didn’t want to be in with twin braids and is looked down upon by her classmates as old-fashioned. She is teased by the top student, Kyouta Tsubaki who shares the same names as her, so she cuts his hair and being interested in Tsubaki’s actions, Kyouta decides to make her his target.

The manga is very interesting to read and it was hard for me to put it down because it is really good. The romance was extremely adorable and incredibly entertaining. However the manga does get over-dramatic and repetitive. I mean it is standard shojo manga drama. Love rivals, break up possibilities, suspicion of cheating, the “is he bored of me?”. It is that kind of bullshit and this happens multiple times. The thing is though it is not exactly boring, yes it gets annoying but it keeps the manga away from being boring. I mean these issues though over-the-top are what many relationships should face. I also really like the build up to the end of the manga, you know how manga talks about the future of the characters, this manga talked about in the most realistic and best way possible and the overall ending is perfect.

Grading: C+

 Characters

Tsubaki is an adorable and likable main protagonist however though I cankyou koi hajimemasu characters empathize with her, she does get annoying with the things she does and how she handles some situations, but her persistence is admirable and the development she receives throughout the manga is what makes her great although in the end of the day, you can find more likable shojo manga females like her. Our love interest Kyouta though at first you’ll hate him at first but then he changes and becomes much more likable but my problem is that his change of character is incredibly forced, I mean how did he become this likable so fast, though his backstory is very cliche, I still like how the manga talks about it. The relationship between Kyouta and Tsubaki though very adorable and sweet is very rushed. I was rooting for this couple the whole time and I knew they’d get together but it pisses me off how they got together way too quickly. The side character were likable but their isn’t much to say about them considering they’re just side characters.

Grading: C+

Art

The art to this manga is gorgeous. The character designs are absolutelykyou koi hajimemasu art amazing. Honestly the art is probably the best thing about the manga. It was always gorgeous.

Grading: A-

Conclusion

This manga was something I could never put down. It is very compelling but it has the major issue of being repetitive, over-dramatic and annoying at times. The relationship between Kyouta and Tsubaki even though it was very rushed made up for that by being sweet, adorable and strong. The way the manga ends is perfect and its concept with the characters’ future was the best part of the manga’s story and is very realistic and handled so well. I really enjoyed Kyou Koi wo Hajimemasu and due it’s high grade in art, it does deserve a B-. It is standard shojo manga but it is still very compelling and I recommend it.

 Thanks for reading my very first manga review not to mention first review for the year! Till next time 🙂

Standard

14 thoughts on “Kyou Koi wo Hajimemasu Manga Review

      • Hmmm. I guess I just got dismayed with the annoying parts. It takes a special mood to overtake me in order for me to read this kind of shoujo series. If I read this series in my normal mood, I would be easily annoyed. But if I’m feeling a bit, hmmm, melodramatic (I guess) then perhaps I can finally read through the entire manga. We’ll see. What other shoujo manga do you like?

        Liked by 1 person

      • I definitely understand, this manga can be a pain aha. I like Fruits Basket, Lovely Complex, Kare First Love and at the moment I’m reading some ongoing manga that need to be updated such as Hiyokoi, Say “I love you”, Kimi ni Todoke, Wolf Girl and Black Prince and I just started reading Absolute Boyfriend

        Liked by 1 person

      • The Skip Beat anime is only the beginning of the manga. It gets better in the manga. I really wish that there were more anime seasons for Skip Beat but oh well. Hibi Chouchou was quite the surprise for me. It’s surprisingly innocent and the art is nice.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’ll definitely get into Skip Beats manga, I made a top 10 list on animes that needed another season and Skip Beat made it number 1 so reading the manga would be best aha. I should start reading Hibi Chouchou as well aha

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

