anime, top list

Top 10 Animes That Need Another Season

Introduction

So Black Butler was given 3 seasons due to its popularity yet season 1 ended PERFECTLY and season 2 just wasn’t needed and season 3 came by to make up for season 2’s train-wreck ending. Most animes never get even a second season. These are the animes that are clearly begging for another season. Remember how on my Junjou Romantica Season 3’s Ending Rant I said “Expect a new top 10 list” this is the list I am presenting here.

Disclaimer: SPOILERS!!

Honorable Mentions

Junjou Romantica (you expected this to be on the list, didn’t you?), The Devil is a Part-timer, My Little Monster, Suki tte Iinayo, Watamote, Free, Ah My Goddess, Doki Doki School Hours, The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya, Angel Beats (I only want another season based on the other characters who received no backstory), Denki-gai, Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun, Kaichou wa Maid-sama, Earl and Fairy, Baka and Test, Nichijou, Nana

10. Hiyokoi

This anime needs more than another season, it needs another episode. The only reason it’s at number 10 is because it was only given one episode so it’s kind of obvious it needed more. Hiyokoi is my favorite manga and I had no choice but to read it because I stumbled across the one-episode anime in 2013. This could’ve made an amazing 24-26 episode anime series. Hiyori and Yuushin’s relationship is amazing from episode 1 and seeing it grow in the manga was beautiful and they start dating earlier in the manga when it usually takes 50 chapters for our main couple to get together. Besides the development for all the characters is great and I’m so disappointed it got only one episode so please give us more.

9. Kimi ni Todoke

Kimi ni Todoke was lucky enough to recieve a second season, even so it’s still not enough. The ending to season 2 was our main characters FINALLY getting together so that should be enough right? Wrong! There is still so much more I want to see which I did see in the manga and it would be great to see that come to an anime. Watching Sawako and Kazehaya’s relationship grow stronger and THEY KISS something the anime never delivered. The other characters get development and even get together with some people, I mean Chizuru and Ryu finally become a couple something I’ve waited a long time for and was close to crying over when it happened. Besides that it starts to discuss the future for all the characters which will be interesting to see a new season.

8. Ouran Highschool Host Club

For a romance anime, we barely got any romance. I mean the opening clearly states “kiss, kiss, fall in love” not “hug, hug, no love (YET)”. Besides the manga ended perfectly and the fact that the anime ended the way it did is so unsatisfying and is asking for a second season which could end the whole franchise properly. It’s a reverse harem/rom-com and the anime has confirmed that some of the guys are starting to like Haruhi which the manga goes into giving a second season a great opportunity. Besides there are amazing characters introduced in the manga that I want to meet in the anime.

7. Fruits Basket

There is still some character development that has been left out of the anime. We still haven’t gotten through Kyo and Yuki’s development and none of Tohru’s development as well. There is so much the anime has missed out on that the manga got through and of course it ended the whole series. Besides we have some other characters of the zodiac that haven’t been introduced and the point of the story was to see how Tohru helps break the curse which happens in the manga. I understand why they haven’t made another season but it would be fantastic if they could because Fruits Basket really needs it.

6. Bokura ga Ita

The ending of Bokura ga Ita isn’t entirely unsatisfying it’s more of the fact it brings up way too many questions that should be answered. What happens in the end is that Yano decides to go to Tokyo with his mother and it ends with everyone saying goodbye to Yano which is pretty sad really. Anyway, I am curious about what happens next. What happens to Yano and Nanami’s relationship? Do they lose feelings after all this time apart? Will the two have an epic reunion after all this time they were apart and they get back together? Will Takeuchi take his chance and win over Nanami? How does Yamamoto handle this? The point is it brings up too many questions and I demand answers.

5. Highschool of the Dead

I think many people can agree with me. Though this anime is well-known for it’s fan-service it is still really good with its characters and story and honestly it needs much more of that. First of all, it is harem anime for fuck sakes, Takashi get your shit together and choose who you want because he has shown a liking to Saeko yet he likes his ex-girlfriend Rei. And my main question is the zombies. How did they start invading? Will any of our main characters die? Will the zombies win or will humanity eliminate them all? The point is the anime needs another season to expand more.

4. Panty and Stocking with Garterbelt

A.K.A The biggest “WTF Gainax?” Because it ended with the biggest plot twist and announces another season yet it has been 5 years and still no second season. For fuck sakes Gainax! I really want another season because I want to see what happens next with one of our characters gone and the biggest plot twist happened. Just please give us a second season Gainax it has been 5 years don’t end the series this way.

3. The Wallflower

Another rom-com that did not conclude properly. This anime turned out to be more of a comedy but it needs so much more romance. I want to see Kyohei admit his feelings for Sunako and for Sunako to grow and open up more and of course to see the other characters develop. So much has apparently happened in the manga so why is it that the anime hasn’t had a second season yet to add this in? Besides the live-action series at least ended properly (and perfectly may I add) even when its original source was still ongoing so why can’t the anime do the same?

2. Princess Jellyfish

This anime was only given 11 episodes. Most animes were given 12-13 but Princess Jellyfish was given 11. Majority of the series focused on the Amamizukan getting demolished and the Amars trying to save it with the help of Kuronosuke when the anime had so much more to go through. It needs a second season to get through the romance and the development of the characters. I want to see more from the series which hasn’t happened yet. Besides looking around the chapter 60s of the manga it seems that so much has happened which needs to come in the anime.

1. Skip Beat

This is the only anime that made me so angry that it didn’t get a second season, I mean why? Why? This anime is fantastic. I want more development for both Ren and Shou and it only just confirmed that Ren likes Kyoko and I want to see more Kyoko and Shou moments because those two together are hilarious and their flashback moments are beautiful. I want to see how things go for Kyoko and her way to fame. I want so much more from Skip Beat than I got and makes me so angry that this wonderful anime didn’t get a second season.

That’s all! Did I forget anything, comment an anime you think needs another season!

(Have you noticed majority of these animes are romance animes…)

Standard

5 thoughts on “Top 10 Animes That Need Another Season

  1. the anime I think that most needs another season (haven’t changed my mind in 2 years): Chihayafuru

    others I think should are:
    -btooom!
    -Aoharu x Kikanjuu
    -One Outs
    -Akatsuki no Yona
    -Magic Kaito 1412
    -Karneval
    -Wizard Barristers
    -and like you said: gekkan shoujo nozaki-kun

    there are other anime I would like to see more of, but they’re just because I wanted more fun like Lucky Star and Danshi Koukousei no Nichijou.

    (for most shoujo I read the manga so I don’t normally care about the anime ver.)

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Wow this is sad — I haven’t seen any of the anime you listed! Man, I need to get on it. But I think the following need another season:

    The Devil is a Part-Timer (like you listed)

    A Certain Magical Index II

    A Certain Scientific Railgun S

    Haganai NEXT

    No Game No Life

    Log Horizon 2

    WataMote

    And there’s probably a few more, but they escape me at the moment.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

